NMR chemical shifts

I’m very new to Q-chem and computational chemistry in general, so please keep this in mind if I don’t use the correct terminology.

I calculated and NMR spectrum of a molecule of interest. IQmol displays the data fairly well. However, we’d like to “bin” similar atoms differently than what IQmol allows us to do. I’d also like to be able to zoom in on the graph, which I apparently cannot do in IQmol.

So my question is how do I get the chemical shifts out of the .out file? I see the table of relative chemical shifts for my Cs and Hs, but these values are not the same as what are displayed in IQmol. The values in IQmol are much closer to our measured values. The difference between IQmol’s display and the relative shifts is approximately 12.09 and 0.72 for the Cs and Hs, respectively.

Where do these correction values come from? Are these universal corrections, meaning the correction from relative shifts to what is displayed in IQmol will always be the same regardless of what method or basis set I use? Are these calculated somewhere and in the output file?

Hi Forrest,
I realize your molecule may be proprietary but could you provide some other toy example of a case where the numbers in the .out file don’t match what is plotted in IQmol? I don’t do NMR calculations so it’s hard for me to address this without a specific example to investigate.

Hi John,
I can provide some information. There are 3 pictures below. The first shows some of the atoms from the output file and their relative shifts. The 2 pictures below that show what is displayed in IQmol. Based on our data and general knowledge of NMR, the values in IQmol are essentially the expected values. I’m sure there’s something simple I am missing or just don’t know about.
Note that the IQmol output and the Q-Chem output file differ by about 12.1 for carbon and 0.72 for H (see 4th picture at the bottom).

Thank you for taking a look!

From the Q-Chem output file:

From IQmol: